Advertising on sbb.ch.

Why does SBB advertise on its website? What data of mine is used for this? This information and more can be found here.

Why advertisements?

In order to make our digital platforms as attractive and innovative as possible, we invest a lot of money every day. We cover part of these costs by offering interested companies the opportunity to reach out to our customers via advertising.

Is my data used for advertisements?

Yes, we use certain data for displaying advertising, complying at all times with the Swiss Federal Act on Data Protection. All data are processed exclusively by SBB and are not shared with third parties. External service providers that process data on our behalf are subject to strict contractual provisions in accordance with the Swiss Federal Act on Data Protection and are not deemed third parties for data protection purposes.

What data of mine is used?

For users who are logged in, we use age, place of residence and gender, as well as contextual travel information such as departure location, departure time, departure date, departure day, arrival location, arrival time, arrival date, arrival day, class of travel, type of rail card and approximate location. In addition, information about the type of device used may be obtained. Attributes relating to a specific person such as name, home address, telephone number and e-mail address are not used. We never share your data with third parties. Instead, we only use your data to determine when which advertising should be displayed. The use of the data is limited in such a manner that it is not possible to draw any inferences to a specific individual.

Is my data stored for ad placement purposes?

No, data is not stored for ads and we do not create a usage profile either. When you access a page on the websites or in the apps, the relevant travel information (see section above) is used to display ads that are as relevant to you as possible. This process is also known as “ad hoc matching”. After advertisements have been placed, the data will no longer be available as it is not stored.

Why is my data used?

We use your data in order to show you advertisements that are actually relevant to you. For example, a new restaurant in Zurich main station is interesting for commuters who travel to Zurich or people who spend time there, whereas we would recommend the Paléo Festival in Nyon to people in Lausanne.

Further content

Werbung auf SBB.ch.

Warum macht die SBB auf ihrer Webseite Werbung? Welche meiner Daten werden dafür genutzt? Diese und weiterführende Informationen erhalten Sie hier.

Warum Werbung?

Um unsere digitalen Plattformen so attraktiv und innovativ wie möglich zu gestalten, investieren wir täglich viel Geld. Einen Teil dieser Kosten decken wir, indem wir interessierten Unternehmen die Möglichkeit bieten, unsere Kunden mittels Werbung anzusprechen.

Werden meine Daten für Werbeanzeigen verwendet?

Ja, wir verwenden bestimmte Daten für die Ausspielung von Werbeanzeigen unter stetiger Einhaltung des Bundesgesetzes über den Datenschutz. Alle Daten werden ausschliesslich durch die SBB bearbeitet und werden nicht an Dritte weitergegeben. Externe Leistungserbringer, die in unserem Auftrag Daten verarbeiten, sind im Sinne des Bundesgesetzes über den Datenschutz vertraglich streng verpflichtet und gelten datenschutzrechtlich nicht als Dritte.

Welche meiner Daten werden verwendet?

Wir nutzen bei eingeloggten Benutzern das Alter, Wohnort und Geschlecht sowie kontextuelle Reiseinformationen wie Abfahrtsort, Abfahrtszeit, Abfahrtsdatum, Abfahrtstag, Ankunftsort, Ankunftszeit, Ankunftsdatum, Ankunftstag, Reiseklasse, Abonnemententyp und ungefähren Standort. Darüber hinaus können Informationen über das verwendete Gerät in Erfahrung gebracht werden. Nicht verwendet werden persönlichkeitsidentifizierende Merkmale wie Name, Wohnadresse, Telefonnummer und E-Mail-Adresse. Ihre Daten geben wir niemals an Dritte weiter, sondern nutzen diese ausschliesslich, um zu bestimmen, wann welche Werbung angezeigt wird. Die Verwendung der Daten wird soweit eingeschränkt, dass kein Rückschluss auf eine bestimmte Einzelperson möglich ist.

Werden meine Daten für Werbeeinblendungen gespeichert?

Nein, für die Werbeanzeigen werden keine Daten gespeichert und wir erstellen auch kein Nutzungsprofil. Beim Seitenaufruf auf den Websites oder in den Apps werden die vorhandenen Reiseinformationen (siehe Abschnitt oben) genutzt, um eine für Sie möglichst relevante Werbung anzuzeigen. Dieses Verfahren ist auch als «ad hoc matching» bekannt. Nach erfolgter Werbeeinblendung stehen die Daten nicht mehr zur Verfügung, da diese nicht gespeichert werden.

Warum werden meine Daten verwendet?

Wir benutzen Ihre Daten, um Ihnen Werbung zu zeigen, welche für Sie auch wirklich relevant ist. Eine Restauranteröffnung im Zürich Hauptbahnhof ist beispielsweise interessant für Pendler, die nach Zürich reisen oder für Personen, die sich dort aufhalten. Dem Lausanner empfehlen wir stattdessen das Paléo Festival in Nyon.

Weiterführender Inhalt